• 1 pound Peaches, pitted
  • 1 pound Plums, pitted
  • 1 jar Cookwell & Company Watermelon Vinaigrette
  • 1 clove Garlic, chopped
  • 1 Shallot, chopped
  • 1 cup Ottavio Olive Oil
  • 4 Jumbo Scallops
  • Sea Salt
  • Adams Reserve Thyme

Combine Peaches, Plums, Garlic and Shallot in food processor, pulse until smooth, then turn on and drizzle in Watermelon Vinaigrette and then Olive Oil until completely incorporated. 

Place in refrigerator to chill.

Heat 4 tablespoons Olive Oil in heavy skillet over medium high heat, season Scallops with Sea Salt and Thyme. 

Sear on each side about 2-3 minutes, depending upon thickness.

Place Gazpacho in 4 bowls, placing Scallop in center of each bowl.  Serve with Crusty Artisan Bread.

Comments
  1. belocchio says:

    Just look at the darling scallops browning and anxiously waiting a plunge into the fruit gazpacho. The markets are heaped with the plunder of the season. Peaches, plums, nectarine you name it! The autumn sweetness of the fruit compliments the succulent sweetness of the scallops. We are so fortunate here on the West Coast to have access to Fanny Bay Scallops from Vancouver Island. This elegant soup would be a perfect start to the most elegant dinner party. Virginia

    • Chef Emil says:

      Thank you my dearest Virginia. As I was creating this gazpacho, I was dreaming of fresh markets in where I could take my basket and shop, smelling the wonderful harvest of fruits. The blend of the scallops with the fruit does make for a marvelous treat. Would that I could meet you on a cool morning and wander down to the market to shop with you. I do believe we would have such a grand time!

      • belocchio says:

        Yes Cheffy!! Shopping in the farmers markets and at the ethnic grocery story is not a chore, but an adventure for me. I sniff strange fruits and vegetables in the Asian Market. I ask questions. Other shoppers answer my questions and give me recipes. The other day I got all the way to the check out counter with a container of red curry paste. A courtly East Indian gentlemen behind me in the line told me NOT to buy that particular brand, and suggested something better. He was absolutely right. Shopping for food is grand. You would love the Richmond Asian markets. After a glorious shop we would rejuvenate ourselves with a cup of strong, rich Vietnamese coffee. Virginia

  2. changeforbetterme says:

    Those scallops look delish! They are my favorite sea food. I have been meaning to check out your food blog for a while now and some how always get side tracked. But here I am today! I’ve looked around and I must say I am impressed! I am a cook but no way a chef like you! My chef hat goes off to you! 🙂

  3. Barbie Jeffrey says:

    Oh, I am soooooo making this soon! It sounds perfect for the wonderful evenings we’ve been having lately. Thanks, Chef!

Join the conversation! Leave a reply below!

